Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Obsidian Theater presents Empanada Loca at MATCH

Thursday, October 24, 2019 | 7:30 pm

|Recurring Event (See all)
An event every 1 week(s) on Thursday and Friday that lasts 0 day(s) and 0 hour(s), the last of which will begin on Thursday, October 24, 2019,
and Once on Friday, October 4, 2019,
and An event every 1 week(s) on Saturday and Sunday that begins at 2019-10-24 09:30 pm and lasts 0 day(s) and 0 hour(s), the last of which will begin on 2019-10-24 7:30
$18

Obsidian Theater presents Empanada Loca, loosely inspired by the legend of Sweeney Todd, at MATCH. The show is a contemporary Grand Guignol horror in the style of Spalding Gray.

Now living deep under Manhattan in an abandoned subway tunnel with the Mole People, a very hungry Dolores recounts her years selling weed with her boyfriend, her return to Washington Heights after 13 years in prison, her fortuitous reunion with an old stoner friend who lets her give massages for cash in the basement under his empanada shop, and the bloodbath that sent her fleeing underground.

Showtimes

  • Friday, October 4, 2019 | 7:30pm
  • Saturday, October 5, 2019 | 9:30pm
  • Sunday, October 6, 2019 | 9:30pm
  • Thursday, October 10, 2019 | 7:30pm
  • Saturday, October 12, 2019 | 9:30pm
  • Sunday, October 13, 2019 | 9:30pm
  • Wednesday, October 16, 2019 | 7:30pm
  • Friday, October 18, 2019 | 7:30pm
  • Saturday, October 19, 2019 | 9:30pm
  • Sunday, October 20, 2019 | 9:30pm
  • Thursday, October 24, 2019 | 7:30pm
  • Friday, October 25, 2019 | 9:30pm
  • Saturday, October 26, 2019 | 9:30pm

Admission

Tickets are $25; $20 for ages 65 and up; $15 for students with valid ID, but limited discounted $18 tickets are available for select shows.

Click here to check for discounted tickets.

Details

Date:
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Time:
7:30 pm
Cost:
$18
Event Categories:
, ,

Venue

MATCH – Midtown Arts & Theater Center Houston
3400 Main Street
Houston, TX 77002 United States
+ Google Map
Phone:
713-521-4533
Website:
matchouston.org

Organizer

Obsidian Theater Company
Phone:
832-889-7837
Website:
obsidiantheater.org